BRUTE FORCE by MARC CAMERON

Brute Force by Marc CameronTitle: Brute Force

Author: Marc Cameron

Pages: 432

Publisher: Pinnacle

Publication Date: 29 December 2015

Rating: ★★★

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley


THE LAST DAYS OF AMERICA
 
In the aftermath of a devastating biological attack, America stands on the brink of disaster. The President of the United States is controlled by terrorists. The Vice President, global mastermind Lee McKeon, is plotting his next move. And special agent Jericho Quinn is running for his life. Desperate to clear his name—and expose the conspirators in the White House—Quinn must race against time before McKeon can execute his evil plan. It begins with heightened security, mass surveillance, and the establishment of a brutal police state. It can only end in the takeover of America. The only thing standing between democracy and destruction is a man named Quinn…and one perfectly aimed bullet.


Wow. That’s really all I have to say about this book. This is probably the most action-packed book I have ever read. I legitimately cannot remember a single chapter of the book that was dull or boring. The book moves at a cracking pace right from start to finish.

Brute Force is Marc Cameron’s sixth novel featuring US Air Force Office of Special Investigations agent Jericho Quinn. The book focuses on Quinn’s attempt, along with the help of his entourage of allies, to stop a potential war with China by chasing down a group of Chinese prison escapees who have taken possession of a powerful weapon, the Black Dragon.

This was my second taste of Jericho Quinn and I liked it a lot more than my first. About a year and a half ago, I read the first of Cameron’s novels featuring Quinn titled National Security and I didn’t like it at all. I really wanted to like it because it had been compared to some of my favourite authors Vince Flynn and Brad Thor in several reviews, but there was something that I just didn’t like about the book and I couldn’t figure out what that was.

However I thought I would give Cameron another chance with Brute Force and having done so, I have now figured out what it is that bugs me with his novels. Everything is over the top. I like elements of realism in the books I read. I like to think that there is a slight possibility that this could actually happen. That’s not what you get from a Marc Cameron novel though. Cameron definitely stretches the boundaries of believability.

Everything is over the top. From the characters, which include an evil mastermind of a vice-president that has seemingly-hidden connections to terrorists, a president who wouldn’t know how to brush his teeth without help and a secret police force that is basically the modern American version of the Gestapo, to the action and everything in between.

 That doesn’t mean that I think Brute Force is a bad book though because I don’t. Not at all. It’s a very entertaining book that’s full of action and intrigue, but it also made me shake my head with disbelief at certain points as well. I still can’t believe the scene where a mother enlisted the help of her three not-even-teenage sons to help her move the body of a man that she just stabbed and knocked out in her own home. That’s the kind of over the top action you can expect in Brute Force.

The other important note about this book is that it clearly follows on from previous books. I feel my reading experience may have been more enjoyable had I read the previous books because there are a lot of elements that are just presented under the assumption that you are up to date with Quinn’s previous adventures.

Worth a read? If you are looking for a book that is just action and adventure from start to finish and you aren’t that worried about the bounds of realism being shattered, then you will definitely love this book. However you probably want to read the five previous novels in the series to fully understand Brute Force.

★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

