WARNING ORDER by JOSHUA HOOD

Warning Order by Joshua HoodTitle: Warning Order

Author: Joshua Hood

Pages: 352

Publisher: Touchstone

Publication Date: 7 June 2016

Rating: ★★★★

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley


In the second book of the explosive Search and Destroy thriller series, Mason Kane—a special ops hero with a questionable past, joins forces with the CIA to neutralize a radical off shoot of ISIS and unravel a conspiracy emanating from the White House’s inner sanctum.

After almost losing his life, foiling a terror plot that threatened to draw the United States into another war—Mason Kane, disgraced American soldier, and special operations legend is still on the governments blacklist. To finally clear his name, Mason strikes a deal with the CIA—throwing himself back into the deadly world of black ops.

But when an asset tied to ISIS leads an old friend into a trap, Mason goes off the grid, and finds himself trapped in the middle of a plot involving an extremely violent and highly capable terror cell—with ties to the President’s inner circle. With the help of Renee Hart, a DOD operative, and a team of elite special ops soldiers, Mason is determined to stop an attack aimed at crippling the US military before time runs out.

Set in the shadows of the war on terror, and inspired by experiences of 82nd Airborne Paratrooper Joshua Hood, Warning Order is an action packed thriller full of shocking twists and non-stop action that throws the reader into the murky world of clandestine operations.


I was excited to give Warning Order a read because even though I didn’t love Hood’s first novel Clear by Fire, I thought there was a lot of potential in the series. Having read the book, my assumption was proved right because I found that I really enjoyed Warning Order. It’s a crazy, action-packed thrill ride and I couldn’t put it down.

Warning Order is Joshua Hood’s second novel featuring Mason Kane. When Mick Boland is led into a trap by an asset with ties to ISIS, Mason Kane and his team go off the grid to save him. However the closer they get to Boland and his captors, it becomes clear that the situation is not exactly as it seems and the terrorists have someone important on their side.

The main thing I took away from Warning Order is that Joshua Hood doesn’t know how to write a boring book. There is always something crazy going on and it never really slows down at all. Like I said, I really enjoyed the book but I do feel that it may have been a little too action-packed for me to love it. There’s a pretty interesting story throughout the book but at times I had trouble following it clearly because there was just so much going on.

The characters in the book are great. I find Mason to be really intriguing, obviously Hood knows what he’s talking about because there’s a lot of depth to the character that a lot of others in the genre are missing. I also really enjoyed the character of Renee Hart because even though she’s a strong character, she still has this vulnerable side to her that is easy to relate with.

The plot itself was interesting as I already said, but I felt it could have been developed a little further. The ending felt a little abrupt and I would have liked to see it stretched out a little more with a bit more of the fallout from the finale included. Also, this is just a personal taste thing, but I felt that the book was just a little too military jargon-y for me. I know for a lot of people that will be a bonus, but I’m not overly knowledgeable about military terms so I did get lost a few times.

All in all, Warning Order is a very good action-packed military thriller. Having read Clear by Fire not too long ago, it is clear to see that Hood is really growing as an author and I am excited to see if his next book is even better than this one. If it is, then Hood could be up there with some of my favourites in the genre like Flynn, Thor, Taylor and Coes.

Worth a read? If you’re a fan of super-fast-paced, action-packed military thrillers, then you can’t go wrong with Warning Order. It has intriguing characters, an interesting plot and you’ll tear through the pages like there’s no tomorrow.

★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

