GUILTY MINDS by JOSEPH FINDER

Guilty Minds by Joseph FinderTitle: Guilty Minds

Author: Joseph Finder

Pages: 400

Publisher: Head of Zeus

Publication Date: 14 July 2016

Rating: ★★★★

 


Private spy Nick Heller is the best lie detector you’ll ever meet. Trained in the special forces; tough, smart and stubborn, he’ll do what needs to be done to uncover the truth.

He’s been hired to disprove a story about a Supreme Court judge and a high-class call girl who’s just been found dead. Nick has forty-eight hours before a Washington gossip website runs an exposé that could destroy the justice system as we know it.

Forty-eight hours to figure out who is lying. Forty-eight hours to solve the murder of an innocent woman. Forty-eight hours to force the power-brokers of Washington to give up their secrets…

The truth, when it comes, will shock them all.


I had been waiting for almost three years to finally get my hands on another Nick Heller novel. The first two books in the series were some of my favourite books so I couldn’t wait to finally tuck in to Guilty Minds. I was so excited to finally get my hands on the book that I tore through it in just a few days and I can safely say that it is probably Finder’s best yet, at least in the Nick Heller series.

Guilty Minds is Joseph Finder’s third novel featuring private spy Nick Heller. When a Supreme Court justice is threatened with an expose of his private life on a gossip website, Nick Heller is hired to poke holes in the story and clear the justice’s name. Heller has forty eight hours to find evidence that the whole story is a fabrication, but even then that may not be enough as the whole scandal turns out to be more sinister than Heller ever expected.

First off, let me say that I really enjoy Finder’s writing style. I like that he utilises very short chapters and combined with the fast pace of the story, it becomes very hard to put down. The story itself took a little while for me to get fully engaged with, but once I did, it was a very interesting but slightly predictable mystery novel.

I found the first part of the book to be a little boring as the story was being set up but once it kicked in with the murder of the call girl, it become really thrilling. There’s mystery, there’s action and there’s even a couple of laughs as Heller comes up with a couple of funny lines every now and then.

Being a journalism student myself, I thought the most interesting part about the book was the character of Mandy Seeger. She has an interesting story and I felt that she and Heller played well off each other. I also found Heller compelling because he doesn’t really seem to be as physically intimidating as others in the genre, but he can still kick ass when he needs to. The only problem I had with the characters was that Merlin got on my nerves every time he was involved, but I have no idea why.

All in all, Guilty Minds is a quick paced, action packed mystery thriller with an intriguing story. As a student journalist myself, I found it pretty hard to put this book down. All I can say is that it was good way to bring Nick Heller back and hopefully it’s not such a long wait until we see him again!

Worth a read? Guilty Minds is definitely worth a read if you’re a fan of mystery novels with lots of action and a strong lead character. It’s a got an interesting story and would be good read for fans of Lee Child and Michael Connelly among others.

★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

