ANY MINUTE NOW by ERIC VAN LUSTBADER

Any Minute Now by Eric Van LustbaderTitle: Any Minute Now

Author: Eric Van Lustbader

Pages: 368

Publisher: Head of Zeus

Publication Date: 11 August 2016

Rating: ★★

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley


The start of a brand new series from the bestseller author of Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne series.

Black Ops… Dark Arts… A Deadly Conspiracy.

Red Rover, the blackest of black ops teams, is finished – betrayed on a mission to capture and interrogate a mysterious Saudi deep in Pakistan. One of the team was killed, the remaining two barely escaped alive.

Now, the unit has been shut down and Greg Whitman and Felix Orteño are left adrift, wondering what went wrong. Into their midst comes Charlize Daou, a brilliant, wildly talented arms expert, who becomes the reason – and supplies the means – to resurrect their mission.

Disobeying orders, they secretly set out to find the Saudi – the first step in a perilous journey that will lead them to the dark heart of a terrifying conspiracy that threatens to change the balance of power across the globe.


I am going to be straight up here and admit that I didn’t like this book at all. I really wanted to like it because Eric Van Lustbader is an author I have been meaning to read for a long time, but honestly I didn’t. It’s partly because the book is a lot more sci-fi-y than the blurb made it seem and I don’t particularly enjoy sci-fi books but it is also because even though I have finished the book I still have no clue what happened. It felt like there was a million things going on at once and I have no idea what any of it meant.

 Any Minute Now is a supernatural spy thriller novel from Eric Van Lustbader, who is well-known for his continuation of Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne series. Greg Whitman and his private security team are in Pakistan searching for Seiran el-Habib when they are ambushed. Against his superiors’ orders, Whit decides to take another crack at el-Habib, only to find that he has stumbled onto a conspiracy far greater than he ever expected.

My biggest problem with the story is that I feel that it tries to do too much. There’s at least four major plot lines going on throughout the whole book and I found it really hard to keep up with them all the time. I felt that the book good have been easier to read and digest if the scale of the story was toned down because the amount of different stories going on made the book really jumpy and lacking flow but it also meant that Van Lustbader didn’t have the time to really explain some stuff going on. All I can really say about the plot is that having finished the book, the first thing I asked myself is “what just happened?” and I still can’t really answer that.

Outside of the plot, there are some good things about the book. There’s a decent amount of action and intrigue in the story and Van Lustbader has an interesting writing style, although it was a touch too wordy for my tastes. The characters were all quite unique and I found the characters of Whit and Charlie to be especially appealing. They were well-written and had an interesting dynamic that kept me going through the book when the story had me lost. I do have to say that the character of Preach was a bit of a letdown because he was built up to be the main villain but again I really don’t understand anything about him.

All in all, Any Minute Now is an ambitious supernatural thriller that had some redeeming elements but ultimately missed the mark for me because it tried to do way too much and ultimately nothing made sense for me. I’d be interested to see if Van Lustbader brings Whit and Charlie back because they have an interesting dynamic, but hopefully future stories may be dialled back just a touch.

Worth a read? If you are a fan of supernatural thrillers and can keep your head wrapped around super-complex storylines, than by all means Any Minute Now should be worth a read. There’s action and suspense and interesting characters, but it is difficult to keep track of everything that is going on in the book.

★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

